Visit Storify for a collection of photos and media for and by the participants of NHSEB 2017! Check out the weekend through the eyes and words of the participants!

Congratulations to the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics from Durham, NC for winning the 2017 National High School Ethics Bowl! Oregon Episcopal School from Portland, OR placed second, followed by Kent Place School from Summit, N.J. in third place, and Herron High School from Indianapolis, IN in fourth place. Wayne Memorial High School from Wayne, MI was voted by their peers the winner of the Spirit of the Ethics Bowl.


Students spent the weekend exercising their philosophical and ethical muscles as they analyzed timely and complex ethical dilemmas. Cases and questions are developed under the guidance of the Parr Center and cover a broad range of topics including drone warfare, overpopulation, standing up against hateful speech, and social media use.

The performance of each team is judged on the basis of how clearly, articulately, and perceptively the students develop the positions they decide to take; their ability to communicate respectfully and collaboratively; and their willingness to take diverse viewpoints into account.

The National High School Ethics Bowl is supported by the Parr Center for Ethics, Marc Sanders Foundation, Fenwick Foundation, Howell Family Charitable Foundation, BB&T Wealth, UNC’s College of Arts and Sciences, UNC’s Office of Undergraduate Admissions, UNC’s Department of Philosophy, and the Loyola University New Orleans Department of Philosophy.

The 24 high schools that qualified for and competed in the 2017 National High School Ethics Bowl are Little Rock Central High School from Little Rock, AK; Stanford Online High School from Stanford, CA; Woodrow Wilson High School from Washington, D.C.; Atlantic Community High School from Delray Beach, FL; St. Petersburg High School from St. Petersburg, FL; Adlai E. Stevenson High School from Chicago, IL; Herron High School from Indianapolis, IN; Gerstell Academy from Finksburg, MD; Medford High School from Medford, MA; Wayne Memorial High School from Wayne, MI; David H. Hickman High School from Columbia, MO; Kent Place School from Summit, N.J.; Syosset High School from Syosset, N.Y.; North Rockland High School from Thiells, N.Y.; North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics from Durham, N.C.; Saint Ursula Academy from Cincinnati, OH; Dove Science Academy from Oklahoma City, OK; Oregon Episcopal School from Portland, OR; Conestoga High School from Berwyn, PA; L&N STEM Academy from Knoxville, TN; John Tyler High School from Tyler, TX; Park City High School from Park City, UT; The Awty International School from Houston, TX; and Seattle Academy of Arts and Sciences from Seattle, WA.

For more information, please visit

Comments are closed.