Skip to main content

Coming This Spring—NHSEB 10: The 2023 National Championship


To culminate the National High School Ethics Bowl’s largest and most competitive season yet, the Parr Center for Ethics is thrilled to announce NHSEB 10: The 2023 NHSEB National Championship. This year has been a historic one, and will mark the tenth anniversary of NHSEB’s original founding in the 2012-2013 academic year. Over those ten years our program and community have grown in astounding ways. Whether in person in Chapel Hill or by following along from home, we hope you’ll join us March 31-April 2, 2023 for a celebration of NHSEB’s past, present, and future.


2022-2023 has been NHSEB’s biggest season to date, with nearly 4,000 students from over 350 schools vying across the country in (44) Regional and (4) Divisional competitions for a seat at NHSEB’s National Championship. These students are spread across 34 states, but doing the hard work of thinking, talking, and working together on tough moral issues that define our times.


Detailed information about the Spring event is now available here, including a full itinerary for Championship competition, the 2023 National Case Set, and a full slate of supplemental “Beyond the Bowl” programming for Championship weekend, selections from which will be available online for those joining us from home around the US. An official media release for press partners is available here.


We are proud to announce our 2022-2023 field of National Championship competitors, who will join us from 22 states across the country:


Arlington High School (Lagrangeville, NY)
Awty International School (Houston, TX)
BASIS Flagstaff (Flagstaff, AR)
Bryn Mawr School (Baltimore, MD)
Campbell High School (Smyrna, GA)
Chapel Hill High School (Chapel Hill, NC)
Doral Academy Preparatory School (Doral, FL)
Glendora High School (Glendora, CA)
Hickman High School (Columbia, MO)
The Hotchkiss School (Salisbury, CT)
James River High School (Midlothian, VA)
Little Rock Central High School (Little Rock, AR)
Maryville High School (Maryville, TN)
Masuk High School (Monroe, CT)
Medford High School (Medford, MA)
Pleasant Valley High School (Bettendorf, IA)
Regis High School (New York, NY)
School Without Walls (Washington, DC)
Skyline High School (Ann Arbor, MI)
St. Ignatius Preparatory School (Chicago, IL)
St. Paul Central High School (St. Paul, MN)
UWC-USA (Montezuma, NM)
Waterford School (Sandy, UT)
William Penn Charter School (Philadelphia, PA)



We hope you’ll join us this Spring to cheer on our finalists, and as we celebrate ten years of intensive dialogues about issues that matter. As always, thank you for your support of our program, and all you do to make it possible.